Singing in the Rain

February 5, 2010

It’s been a crazy week, so I am just now getting a chance to post.  Last night, I traveled for five hours while it rained constantly … though safety may be a concern, I actually enjoy driving in the rain very much, especially when I can DJ the music I often associate with the rain.  So, in posting today, my thought was to search the depths of my iPod, and in honor of the movie High Fidelity, list my top five songs to listen to during the rain.

5.  Wonderwall – Ryan Adams

Though this subdued cover of the upbeat Oasis classic has nothing to do with rain whatsoever, it is as appropriate for a dreary day as anything out there.

4.  Everything in its Right Place – Radiohead

In actuality, there are numerous Radiohead songs that could have made the list, but this is one of my favorites, and I find myself searching for it each time the forecast looks rough.

3.  Dreams – Fleetwood Mac

This is an easy one because of the refrain ‘thunder only happens when it’s raining,’ but Stevie Nicks’ beautiful, yet haunting, voice is what seals the deal here.

2.  Raining in Baltimore (Live in New York – 1998) – Counting Crows

The pain in Adam Duritz’s voice as he grapples with loneliness and depression is extremely moving, with the motif of rain being present throughout.  I can listen to this song on repeat, over and over, that is, until I either fall asleep or start crying.

1.  Riders on the Storm – The Doors

There is actually the sound of rain as the song begins and ends.  Though Lester Bangs says that Jim Morrison is “a drunken buffoon, posing as a poet,” it is this song that leads me to believe there is some actual talent there.  This is my go-to song if I am traveling long-distances in the rain.

Honorable mentions include:  November Rain, Guns and Roses;  To Shelia, Smashing Pumpkins;  Fool in the Rain, Led Zeppelin,  No Rain, Blind Melon … and yes, ‘Rainy Days and Mondays’ was left off the list intentionally. 

Rather than my list being the final word, may it be a conversation starter.  Would love to hear other suggestions.

2 Responses to “Singing in the Rain”

  1. Merritt said

    First and foremost I would say great list but you left out Rain by Creed nothing can make a dreary day better than singing some Creed. However I would probably put up there two other songs

    Contact by As Cities Burn
    Great lyrics to think about and even better riffs in the background. Its the perfect mix between chilled blues riffs and harder alternative riffs. The line that always gets me is “Now I’m starting to see that your voice was really my own bouncing off the ceiling back to me. God this can’t be. God this can’t be. God could it be that all we see is this. Is this it?” (Side note JJ–check this band out you would love them.)

    Sleeping In by The Postal Service
    Not only is the title what everyone wants to do but it has one of the best beats ever. The constant high hat makes you feel the rain. Great song for the light misty rains.

  2. Russ said

    Good topic. While I didn’t try to tie into the theme of rain, here are a few of my rainy day favorites:

    5. The Trapeze Singer – Iron & Wine
    4. Til the Sun Turns Black/Within You – Ray LaMontagne
    3. The Golden Age – Beck
    2. Transatlanticism – Death Cab
    1. Kid A – Radiohead

    I also second Raining in Baltimore, Wonderwall and all things Postal Service.

Leave a comment